Coming Up Roses

Last post I gave a sincere thank you to the football gods for the Orange bowl, and my predictions after staring into dark center of the Playoff trophy,  for the Peach and Fiesta games. 

What was my sensible way of coping with the New Year? Taking in what was the best football game my little eyes have ever watched. Cheers to you 2017! 

90991f45bb6c38c73328b3f750ddaa65USC showed the Rose Bowl and all those watching, they could pLAy, and would not allow those frisky kitties from across the nation, to win in their town. 

Juju was on his beat, and the defense held down by DT Stevie Tu’ikolovatu. Pssst, want a fun drinking game to play next halftime dear heart? Attempt to pronounce a Polynesian lineman’s last name. Try it. Your tongue may hurt after. 

Adoree’ Jackson was working every angle of the field, before breaking a few hearts revealing an injury. He definitely made the nation question who’s a more versatile player, him or that DB from Michigan.

Penn State also looked like they were returning to their roots as a classy college football program, especially wearing their black cleats.

For four hours, I felt every emotion pass through my body. Surprise, excitement, disappointment, screams followed by explicit language, worry and extreme happiness.

Which also perfectly describes my affair with football.

USC’s QB Sam Darnold, is a leader. I may have to post a #mcm on this true freshman. Yes, let me repeat he’s a TF. He had over 400 total yards with a ~62% completion percentage. Oh yes, take that in. He has the composure of a senior, who’s had the same offense around him for three seasons. Keep in mind, he’s only started for 3/4 of this season. Incredible. My body is tingling with excitement for next season. Is it September yet?

Oklahoma won the Sugar Bowl. I chose not to watch, due to the actions of a certain running back, who will not be named here. Personally, I feel Coach Stoops needs to fired, for allowing a player guilty of an inexcusable incident, only receive a slap on the wrist. images

The Tigers of LSU dominated Louisville, no Fournetting involved, with their D shutting down the well-deserved Heisman trophy winner, Lamar Jackson. Coach O looks right at home, and is convincing me, I need to plan a football weekend in Louisiana later this year. Don’t those unis just make your heart melt? They certainly make mine.

Clemson, oh my was I way off. I was really, off. I’m guilty of a little satisfaction every time tOSU finds a way to lose. I can’t help it, another team that doesn’t make my heart flutter. The Buckeyes looked buck… well, they were playing as if they were shirtless and shoeless. Blown play calls – check. A soft o-line that made QB JT Barrett look like he played for a Division two team, check. No defense – check. Leaving Coach Meyer to say, Ohio State isn’t used to this. Personally, I could get used to this.

Has the bar has been set to have a bowl game with a scoreless opponent? Remember a year ago? tOSU’s BIG10 counterpart Iowa was Beathard. I can’t help but giggle every time…

The Tide keeps rolling along, meaning Satan Saban won again. He was thrilled with the outcome… sabanThe 2016 National Championship game will be repeated next Monday. A Southern party at it’s finest. I’m counting on you Dabo, make this dynasty stop.

I’ll admit, it’s a little pleasure to see the well-known College Football programs, or if you prefer to use the words storied, distinguished, or greatest, back at the top.

Dear heart, I like an underdog. I’ve been an underdog all of my life. So was my alma mater when we beat Alabama in our undefeated season, I also happened to be a member of. I also enjoy being entertained, and the big programs when they are good, can entertain us well into the night.

The NFL regular season said goodbye on Sunday. As a fan of the team I’m a fan of the Jets, I’m glad to see it finally end. As a football addict, I was already setting the times in my phone for my upcoming wild weekend.

Let’s call it what it is, the Raiders Texans game won’t be a pleasure for anyone involved. After watching the Raiders Broncos, it’s obvious Carr had the juice and the carbon. I couldn’t watch past halftime.

Seattle will likely win, their D-line is winning them games lately, and with Miami’s starting QB Tannehill out, the Steelers will give them the Pitts.

The only game worth yours and my time watching, the Giants and Packers on Sunday. I’ve already told my friend, our brunch ends at 1 PM PST. I have an important thing I need to do after (hush now, no need to reveal our secret).

Cheers,image

x|o FFF

Author: Football Femme

A football-loving, well-heeled Miss, who enjoys sipping her scotch whisky neat.

1 thought on “Coming Up Roses”

Leave a Reply

